What’s The Process of Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama
Whether you’re navigating the Gulf waters or an inland stream, you may need to register your boat with Alabama’s Marine Patrol Division AND have a boat operator’s Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama. Below you’ll find all the information needed for registering a boat in Alabama along with the state’s policies regarding boating licenses.
All vessels manufactured after 1972 are required by federal law to have a hull identification number affixed to the vessel by the Boating License in Alabama. This 12 digit number is normally located on the outside stern of the vessel on the right side, below the gunwale. This number must be included on the registration certificate and application for registration.
When registering a boat for the first time in your name, sales tax applies to the purchase price at the same local rates as applies to vehicles. Sales tax must be paid in your county of residence or the county in which your boat is domiciled Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama. A marina or storage facility is not an acceptable address for registration purposes.
IT’S NOT A FEE, IT’S A CONTRIBUTION
When you apply for your boat registration, you will have to pay a registration fee. The amount of the registration fee depends on the length of the boat you are registering. Registration fees are collected to help contribute to the maintenance and conservation of state waterways.
In Alabama, you must be at least 14 years old and have a vessel license to operate a vessel or personal watercraft alone. Children ages 12-13 can operate a vessel of personal watercraft with a vessel operator’s license and adult 21 years of age or older on board. Children under the age of 12 are prohibited from operating vessels and personal watercraft.
Nonresidents 12 and older can operate on Alabama waters for 45 days per year. If operating for more than 45 days per year, nonresidents must get an Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama Vessel Operator’s License. Operators 12 and 13 must still have an adult 21 and older on board.
Boat Operator’s Certification and Licenses can be obtained at any Department of Public Safety License Examination office in your county. A written or oral exam, a boating course certificate of completion or an age exemption is required. Minors must also bring a copy of their birth certificate, social security card, and a certified statement from their school’s superintendent. The application fee for a license is $5 and the license issuance fee is $36.25.
AL Boat Registration Exemptions
The Alabama Marine Patrol Division does not require boat registration for a vessel:
- With valid temporary certificates of number.
- Currently registered in another state, as long as the vessel won’t be in AL for more than 90 consecutive days.
- Registered in another country, temporarily operating in Alabama.
- Owned by a government entity (federal, state, county, and local).
- That is a ship’s lifeboat.
- Not propelled by machinery (excluding sailboats and boats for hire).
- Documented as commercial with the U.S. Coast Guard.
- Boats documented for pleasure will need to be registered.
Additionally, Alabama does not require you to register boat trailers.
All mechanically propelled boats, sailboats, and boats for hire, (except for canoes) must be registered in Alabama. Boat owners can register, renew, or transfer boat ownership at any County License office. Dealers and liveries must register with the Alabama Marine Patrol Office in Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama, Alabama and must call to make an appointment at 800-272-7930.
Boat registration fees are based on the length of the vessel. Registration fees are not prorated and all registrations expire at the end of the calendar year.
When registering a vessel for the first time, any applicable sales tax will be due in addition to registration fees. Transfer fees are $5 plus sales tax for vessels with a valid Alabama registration decal and $5 plus the registration fee and applicable sales tax for transfers with an expired registration.
For vessels less than 16 feet long, registration costs $20. For vessels 16 feet to 26 feet, the cost is $25. Vessels 26 feet to 40 feet cost $75 and longer than 40 feet costs $100. For a replacement or duplicate registration is $5.
When purchasing a used boat without a Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama, the boat must be registered before being placed in water. For new boat purchases with a valid Alabama registration, applications for transfer must be made within 15 days of the purchase.
Whether you’re navigating the Gulf waters or an inland stream, you may need to register your boat with Alabama’s Marine Patrol Division AND have a boat operator’s Boat Registration in Cherokee County Alabama. Below you’ll find all the information needed for registering a boat in Alabama along with the state’s policies regarding boating licenses. All…